

Meeting Minutes - Final

375 Beale Street Suite 700 San Francisco, California 94105

ABAG Executive Board

President, Jesse Arreguin, Mayor, City of Berkeley
Vice President, Belia Ramos, Supervisor, County of Napa
Immediate Past President, David Rabbitt, Supervisor, County of
Sonoma

Thursday, August 20, 2020 5:05 PM Remote

Association of Bay Area Governments
Executive Board Special Meeting No. 450

The ABAG Executive Board may act on any item on the agenda.

The meeting is scheduled to begin at 5:05 p.m.

Agenda, roster and webcast available at https://abag.ca.gov

For information, contact Clerk of the Board at (415) 820-7913.

Roster

Candace Andersen, Jesse Arreguin, London Breed, Cindy Chavez, Christopher Clark, David Cortese, Lan Diep, Pat Eklund, Maya Esparza, Nikki Fortunato Bas, Richard Garbarino, Leon Garcia, Liz Gibbons, Lynette Gibson McElhaney, Scott Haggerty, Barbara Halliday, Erin Hannigan, Rich Hillis, David Hudson, Wayne Lee, Jake Mackenzie, Rafael Mandelman, Gordon Mar, Nathan Miley, Karen Mitchoff, Raul Peralez, Julie Pierce, Dave Pine, David Rabbitt, Belia Ramos, Dennis Rodoni, Warren Slocum, Loren Taylor, Lori Wilson. Jayne Battey (Non-voting).

1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

President Arreguin called the meeting to order at about 5:05 p.m. Quorum was present.

The following advisory representative was present: Jayne Battey, Regional Water Quality Control Board.

Present: 30 - Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Canepa, Chavez, Clark, Cortese, Diep, Eklund, Esparza,

Garbarino, Garcia, Gibson McElhaney, Haggerty, Halliday, Hannigan, Hillis, Hudson, Lee, Mackenzie, Mandelman, Mar, Miley, Mitchoff, Peralez, Pierce,

Ramos, Sinks, Rodoni, and Taylor

Absent: 4 - Breed, Pine, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

2. Public Comment

The following gave public comment: Sara Ogilvie; Corey Smith.

3. Executive Board Announcements

Page 1 Printed on 9/25/2020

ABAG Executive Board August 20, 2020

4. President's Report

4.a. 20-1148 President's Report of August 20, 2020

President Arreguin gave the report.

5. Executive Director's Report

5.a. 20-1149 Executive Director's Report of August 20, 2020

Therese McMillan gave the report.

6. Executive Board Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Garbarino and second by Eklund, the Consent Calendar was approved. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 25 - Arreguin, Bas, Chavez, Clark, Cortese, Diep, Eklund, Esparza, Garbarino, Garcia, Gibson McElhaney, Haggerty, Halliday, Hannigan, Hillis, Hudson, Lee, Mackenzie, Mar, Mitchoff, Peralez, Pierce, Sinks, Rodoni, and Taylor

Absent: 9 - Andersen, Breed, Canepa, Mandelman, Miley, Pine, Rabbitt, Ramos, and Wilson L

- **6.a.** 20-1150 Approval of ABAG Executive Board Minutes of July 16, 2020
- **6.b.** 20-1156 Request for Authorization to Amend Existing Contract with Horizon Water and Environment to Increase the Maximum Compensation Amount to \$1,300,000, and to add Grant #4600013248 to Scope of Services, and to extend the duration of the contract through December 31, 2023
- **6.c.** 20-1292 Ratification of Appointments to Housing Methodology Committee

7. Joint ABAG MTC Governance Committee

President Arreguin gave the report.

Page 2 Printed on 9/25/2020

ABAG Executive Board August 20, 2020

7.a. <u>20-1151</u>

Adoption of ABAG Resolution No. 15-2020--Creation of a Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

There was no public comment.

Upon the motion by Eklund and second by Lee, the Executive Board approved amending Resolution No. 15-2020 by adding the following:

- (i) Over time the ABAG President shall strive to achieve ABAG appointments to the Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee such that there shall be a balance between City and County representatives and a geographic balance among the north, south, east and west representatives of the ABAG region.
- (j) Over time the ABAG members of the Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee shall strive to encourage appointments of the Chair and Vice Chair of the committee such that one shall be a city representative and one shall be a county representative.

The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 26 - Andersen, Arreguin, Chavez, Clark, Cortese, Diep, Eklund, Esparza, Garbarino, Garcia, Gibson McElhaney, Haggerty, Halliday, Hannigan, Hillis, Hudson, Lee, Mackenzie, Mar, Mitchoff, Peralez, Pierce, Ramos, Sinks, Rodoni, and Taylor

Absent: 8 - Breed, Bas, Canepa, Mandelman, Miley, Pine, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

Upon the motion by Hudson and second by Haggerty, the Executive Board adopted Resolution No. 15-2020, as amended. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 28 - Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Canepa, Chavez, Clark, Cortese, Diep, Eklund, Esparza, Garbarino, Garcia, Gibson McElhaney, Haggerty, Halliday, Hannigan, Hillis, Hudson, Lee, Mackenzie, Mar, Mitchoff, Peralez, Pierce, Ramos, Sinks, Rodoni, and Taylor

Absent: 6 - Breed, Mandelman, Miley, Pine, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

7.b. 20-1296

Ratification of Appointments to Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee

There was no public comment.

Upon the motion by Hudson and second by Lee, the Executive Board ratified the appointments of ABAG members to the Joint MTC ABAG Legislation Committee. The motion passed unanimously by the following vote:

Aye: 27 - Andersen, Arreguin, Bas, Chavez, Clark, Cortese, Diep, Eklund, Esparza, Garbarino, Garcia, Gibson McElhaney, Haggerty, Halliday, Hannigan, Hillis, Hudson, Lee, Mackenzie, Mar, Mitchoff, Peralez, Pierce, Ramos, Sinks, Rodoni, and Taylor

Absent: 7 - Breed, Canepa, Mandelman, Miley, Pine, Rabbitt, and Wilson L

ABAG Executive Board August 20, 2020

8. Regional Housing Needs Allocation

8.a. <u>20-1155</u> Update on Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA)

Gillian Adams gave the report.

The following gave public comment: Shajuti Hossain; Rodney Nickens; Jeff Levin; Karina Kiziloglu.

The following submitted public comment: Ed Shikada.

9. Adjournment / Next Meeting

President Arreguin adjourned the meeting at about 7:04 p.m. The next meeting of the ABAG Executive Board is on September 17, 2020.

Page 4 Printed on 9/25/2020