



# **Meeting Minutes**

## **Metropolitan Transportation Commission**

Alfredo Pedroza, Chair Nick Josefowitz, Vice Chair

Wednesday, February 28, 2024

9:40 AM

**Board Room - 1st Floor** 

#### Roster

Alfredo Pedroza (Chair), Nick Josefowitz (Vice Chair),
Margaret Abe-Koga, Eddie Ahn, David Canepa, Cindy Chavez, Carol Dutra-Vernaci,
Dina El-Tawansy\*, Victoria Fleming, Dorene M. Giacopini\*, Federal D. Glover,
Matt Mahan, Nate Miley, Stephanie Moulton-Peters, Sue Noack, Gina Papan,
David Rabbitt, Hillary Ronen, Libby Schaaf\*, James P. Spering, Sheng Thao
\*Non-Voting Members

#### 1. Call to Order / Roll Call / Confirm Quorum

Present: 16 - Chair Pedroza, Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner

Ahn, Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner

Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen, and Commissioner Spering

Absent: 2 - Commissioner Glover, and Commissioner Thao

Commissioner Canepa arrived during agenda item 8.

Non-Voting Commissioner Present: Commissioner Giacopini and Commissioner Schaaf Non-Voting Commissioners Absent: Commissioner El-Tawansy

### 2. Chair's Report

### 3. Policy Advisory Council Report

3a. 24-0317 Policy Advisory Council Report

Action: Information

### 4. Executive Director's Report

**4a.** <u>24-0318</u> Executive Director's Report

Action: Information

### 5. Commissioner Comments

#### 6. Consent Calendar

Upon the motion by Commissioner Chavez and seconded by Commissioner Ronen, the Commission unanimously approved the Consent Calendar by the following vote:

Aye: 15 - Chair Pedroza, Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Spering

Absent: 3 - Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Glover and Commissioner Thao

**6a.** 24-0194 Approval of Commission Minutes of the January 24, 2024 Meeting

Action: Commission Approval

## Regional Network Management Committee

**6b.** 24-0160 MTC Resolution No. 4610, Revised. Regional Network Management

Customer Advisory Group Charter - New Member Appointment

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Allison Quach

## **Programming and Allocations Committee**

**6c.** 24-0135 MTC Resolution Nos. 4570, 4571, 4572, and 4626, Revised. Allocation of

\$212 million in FY2023-24 Transportation Development Act, State Transit

Assistance, Regional Measure 2, and AB1107 funds to the City of

Fairfield, the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency and MTC to

support transit operations and capital projects in the region.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Luis Garcia

6d. 24-0137 MTC Resolution Nos. 3989, 4505 and 4540, Revised. Various revisions to

the One Bay Area Grant programs (OBAG 2 and 3), Carbon Reduction Program, and MTC exchange program, including programming \$1 million in OBAG 3 Regional funds to MTC for Adaptive Ramp Metering on State Route 237 in Santa Clara County and changing the fund source for \$16.5 million in OBAG 2 and 3 projects from STP/CMAQ to CRP to facilitate

timely CRP program delivery.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Thomas Arndt

**6e.** <u>24-0140</u> MTC Resolution Nos. 4615, Revised, 4631, and 4632. Allocation of \$7.6

million in Regional Measure 3 capital funds to San Francisco Municipal

Transportation Agency and Bay Area Toll Authority.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Julieth Ortiz

6f. 24-0142 MTC Resolution No. 4545, Revised. 2023 Transportation Improvement

Program (TIP) Amendment 2023-27.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: John Saelee

## **Committee Report**

## 7. Programming and Allocations Committee Report (Chavez)

7a. 24-0136 MTC Resolution No. 4629. FY 2024-25 MTC Fund Estimate.

Annual Fund Estimate and proposed apportionment and distribution of approximately \$1 billion in Transportation Development Act (TDA) Local Transportation Fund, State Transit Assistance (STA), State of Good Repair (SGR) Program, Assembly Bill 1107 (AB 1107), transit-related bridge toll, and Low Carbon Transit Operations Program (LCTOP) funds for FY 2024-25.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Terence Lee

Upon the motion by Commissioner Chavez and seconded by Commissioner Papan, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 4629. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 15 - Chair Pedroza, Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Fleming, Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Moulton-Peters, Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner Ronen and Commissioner Spering

Absent: 3 - Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Glover and Commissioner Thao

**7b.** <u>24-0138</u> MTC Resolution No. 4630. Fiscal Year 2023-24 Productivity Improvement

Program (PIP).

Recommend adoption of the Fiscal Year 2023-24 Productivity Improvement Program which incorporates the Senate Bill 125-related Regional Accountability Measures for emergency transit funding.

Action: Commission Approval

Presenter: Raleigh McCoy

Upon the motion by Commissioner Chavez and seconded by Commissioner Ronen, the Commission unanimously adopted MTC Resolution No. 4630. The motion carried by the following vote:

**Aye:** 15 - Chair Pedroza, Vice Chair Josefowitz, Commissioner Abe-Koga, Commissioner Ahn, Commissioner Chavez, Commissioner Dutra-Vernaci, Commissioner Fleming,

Commissioner Mahan, Commissioner Miley, Commissioner Moulton-Peters,

Commissioner Noack, Commissioner Papan, Commissioner Rabbitt, Commissioner

Ronen and Commissioner Spering

Absent: 3 - Commissioner Canepa, Commissioner Glover and Commissioner Thao

### 8. Public Comment / Other Business

Commissioner Canepa arrived during agenda item 8.

Aleta Dupree was called to speak.

## 9. Adjournment / Next Meetings:

The next meeting of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission will be held on Wednesday, March 27, 2024 at the Bay Area Metro Center, 375 Beale Street, San Francisco, CA.